The first Community Language School in Australia was started by German immigrants in South Australia in 1839.

In 2019 under the Community Languages Schools Program, in the state of NSW 62 languages were taught by over 3,000 volunteer teachers to 37,500 students. 

Community Languages Schools that are registered with and funded by the NSW Department of Education's Community Languages Schools Program operate for at least 2 hours per week, after school and on the weekend. They are usually hosted by public schools. 

Hunter Community Languages is one of three peak bodies in NSW funded by the NSW Department of Education to support the Community Languages Schools Program. We are uniquely placed in the Lower Hunter Valley to support schools on the Central Coast, in Newcastle, in regional areas of NSW, as well as schools in the northern and north-western areas of Sydney. 

​Our member schools are growing in number and in 2020 we have member schools spread from The Lower Hunter and Newcastle Region, to the Central Coast and North Western Sydney. If you are looking for a community language school in this region, please see our list of member schools.

We welcome new members.  Some of the benefits of becoming a member include:

access to professional development courses offered by Hunter Community Languages;

access to subsidised Public Liability Insurance and Volunteer Workers' Accident Insurance;

support for you and your school from our Education Officer.

 You can join us here, or you're welcome to get in touch, we'd love to hear from you.